d a q g D F design by sweet pea (irate shrimp)

2003-04-20 | 7:47 p.m.

Sorry I Can't Write, I'm A Criminal Now

Maybe it was my sub-par bowling performance that night, maybe it was the two beers, maybe it was the general stress and tension I�ve been under lately. I�ve had to work even more at the office the past few weeks. Maybe it was the fact that the guy in the red car in front of me was driving like a complete AssHole. Maybe it�s that 95% of Jersey drivers are dicks. I don�t know. Whatever it was, I wish I hadn�t let it get to me, and I wish I hadn�t reacted the way I did.

The aforementioned AssHole was a typical Jersey driver, 10pm on a Tuesday night, proudly driving under the speed limit in the left lane, cruising alongside another vehicle so that no one could pass them. Others had been trying for miles before they exited the highway, but not me. I was destined to follow him all the way home, god�s little test of my annoyance factor with Her fellow creations.

�Jesus Christ!� I shouted as I watched the AssHole turn on his dome light and proceed to read �War and Peace� as the light changed from red to green. I shouted at the windshield in front of me, but I didn�t give him the usual treatment and beep the steady �WOOOOOONNNNKKK!!� and flip him off. No, I didn�t. I waited for AssHole to regain consciousness and remember that he was supposed to be driving, not sitting and enjoying a good book and a cup of tea. When he did finally notice the green light, he didn�t flinch or flicker. He began to roll his car forward with all the gusto of a lazy, sunbathing cat flicking away a fly with its tail.

I approached his car from behind, growing increasingly annoyed at our 40 mph progression in a 55 mph zone, on a rarely deserted highway in NJ where most feel comfortable at 75. By some miracle of god, he noticed my headlights, and opted not to subtly pull into the right lane, not to speed up to the appropriate speed, but rather to punish me for following too closely and slam on his breaks, and slow us both down to 30 mph. Nice. When we got back up to 50 and he appeared content to remain there, I flicked my lights to again get his attention away from whatever it was in his lap that glowed in his dome light and held him in such awe. He slammed on the breaks again. My anger growing, I honked the horn. Because my car only weighs 10 and � pounds, the clever blokes at the Honda factory decided to put a surprisingly intimating horn under the hood to compensate, and I�m not afraid to unleash it�s fury at times like this. I layed on the horn for nearly a minute as our lane slowly merged with that on our right, and I saw AssHole�s last chance to be a decent human being and move out of my way fade into the past.

As we got down the winding hill into my town, there was a clearing ahead. It�s 10pm, there�s hardly another car on the road. There�s a passing lane ahead, I�m not quite there yet, but what the hell, right? There were no other cars to worry about, and if there were I would have seen their headlights. So, I passed him � and a parked cop at the same exact time.

As I stopped and waited for the cop to approach my window, I heard AssHole stop and explain to the cop how he was innocently driving himself home after a hard day�s work and this young guy was being so mean to him and honking his horn and flashing his brights at him� �Oh Jesus,� I moaned again, not realizing that I was again spitting in god�s face and only making it worse for myself.

�Goooooood Morning!� The cop said, his tone slightly out of place, jovial, yet mocking. I had heard the tone from many bosses before, and I knew I was just a mouse about be pounced on by a vicious alley cat. He wasn�t going to kill me, but he was going to have fun letting me know just how much bigger he was than me. I looked at the clock glowing 10:03pm, and I responded dryly, �Good EVENING.� What hope was there at this point, I could tell by his tone I didn�t have a prayer of surviving this unscathed.

�How much have to you had to drink this EVENING,� he asked. And so it began. I watched him closely to make sure he didn�t drop a bag of white powder in the car and try and bring me in for drug possession. One passed field sobriety test, a dozen passed vehicle safety inspection tests, one non-attempt at explaining myself, and thirty-five minutes later, he put on his cap and adjusted it just so in his rear view mirror like a tight little beret and sauntered back to my window. He let me know just how much bigger that uniform made him than me. My first ticket in over 10 years. Then my second. Then my third and fourth. Then my fifth. When I quite politely told him that the reason for the fifth ticket was bullshit, he said, �you can fight it court.�

My heart pounded as I drove the mile from the scene of the crime to my house, and when I parked the car, I started to sob. I walked in the door and put on a brave face for SP, but it didn�t last very long. �The first time I�ve been pulled over in 10 years and I�m going to lose my license,� I bawled at him, choking over my own melodramatic sobs, pissed at myself for not being able to handle the situation better. At one point I paused from the scenarios of prison yards and hitchhiking to work, and I lifted my head from my hands and heard the sounds of keys clicking rapidly from the next room. SP was on the case, tapping out an email to a Johnny Cochran. �You�re not losing your license,� he said, �that fucker�s losing his job!!� Well, that�s not what he said, but it was what my imaginary voice of hope whispered in my ear. �We�ll make him pay for his evil, pig-stinking crimes, the bastard!! He probably molests children and beats minorities for fun, when he�s not trying to ruin your life.� It�s great what the mind will convince you of when your despair turns to anger and you desperately need to feel justified in revenge.

The truth is, I did something wrong. I�m willing to pay the penalties for that, but not for the other four mythological bullshit charges he concocted to punish me. The bastard! I never had anything against them before, and I even held back my giggles when I saw SP come home with a happy police car pi�ata just a few days before this all happened, but now, every cop is a bastard. Every cop is out to get me, and every cop is corrupt and deserves to be punished horribly for abusing his or her power. They deserve to be burned at the stake. They deserve to be sterile. The cop who did that to me deserves to be miserable.

Justice is blind, and I hope he will be one day, too.

Just kidding.

Kinda.

Now it's your turn... 9 comments so far:

brandone -
It really is a shame that police don't enforce people for going too fucking slow. It really pisses me off when I pull up behind someone and they don't move. On the other hand, I make it a habit to move out of people's way. I say fight it all the way! Good luck. Bran
-------------------------------
marisa -
aaaarrrrrgggghhhhhslowdriversmakemecraaaaaaaaaaaazy!!! As I read down your entry I got madder and madder and MADDER at that guy! Like no one else's time is precious but his own. He is clearly a maschochist and was totally getting off on your frustration. And some cops are nothing more than hall monitors with firearms and an overinflated sense of self-importance. Fight that bitch and win!
-------------------------------
ken -
Fucking pigs. I've told you I'm from Mississippi right? Well, it is 2003 and the police station in this town STILL has a seperate room where they beat the crap out of people before they book them. Guess how they choose which people go into that room. They arrested an innocent mentally disabled african american man, put a lamp shade covered in foil on his head and called it a lie detector. They're not the worst. Have you heard about New Orleans? The river there has more corpses than catfish from the corrupt cops over the years. They will "disappear" you, and not flinch, for less than a hundred bucks. How do we protect ourselves from bad cops? Think about it. If that cop had arrested you, he could have done anything to you, taken/left you anywhere, and there wouldn't be anything to stop him. It's very frightening indeed. Pigs.
-------------------------------
k9642042 -
You have it good..i got behind a manure spreader today on my way to work.
-------------------------------
Melanie / Lostplatypus -
Oooooooooo that just burns my ASS!!! And not in the GOOD way, either. I have it on good authority that some ungodly percentage of policepeople have severe personality disorders which is why they have chosen the particular field they chose. Most have control issues at the very least. I wish I could help - I'm sorry you're having to go through all this. It's degrading, embarrassing and JUST PLAIN WRONG. Weenies.
-------------------------------
Carla -
And I thought the Palm Springs PD had a monopoly on dipshits in uniforms. WOW. Just goes to show those who give all cops a pass in a kneejerk way are dead wrong. And I do know two decent cops -- in LA of all places, but this kneejerk assumption that we have to give them the benefit of the doubt JUST BECAUSE has got to go! This is exactly why the true asshole/psycho/inferiority-complexed fuckers in uniforms end up doing shit like this -- because they assume -- many times correctly -- that they will always be believed no matter how true and/or verifiable their victims' reports are. There I go on a roll again -- so gotta tell you baby, glad I kept clicking into your diary and hella happy to hear from you again!
-------------------------------
Carla (again) -
--just stopping by to give you a big sloppy wet kiss ;* you funloving criminal!
-------------------------------
Mother Shrimp -
I am very upset for you! How has this resolved itself...please keep us informed! This is particularly strange since SP and his mother had a very bizarre encounter with a police officer only a week before. He was in plane clothes in an unmarked car! SP just happened to weave in and out of traffic a couple times and suddenly this cop incognito started to talegate us and act very strange, which made SP naturally drive a bit more defensively. The cop then, after several miles, put on his siren and waved us over. He didn't give us a ticket though. He acted very mean at first, but SP handled him very well. I think too that the cop was afraid of how sweet and honest SP mother looked. She might be a credible witness to this cop's sneaking and bating behavior. So although the outcome was appropriate, unlike your's, it cetainly was a sly and provoking way for a cop to behave! I hope SP can straighten this out for you! Much Compassion. Mother Shrimp
-------------------------------
Mother Shrimp -
Pease ignore the word "us" in the previous entry. I just got so involved with identifying with SP and his mother! OKAY?
-------------------------------

Prev | Next