d a q g D F design by sweet pea (irate shrimp)

2003-03-27 | 5:26 a.m.

Are Republicans Really Color Blind?

Just when I thought I couldn't possibly despise our president and the situation he's gotten us into more, I see this:

That's Little Bush meeting with Tony Blair at Camp David yesterday. Would you look at that chair? Who picked that out, and why in the world is the President of the United States sitting in it? It's awful! Of course, the Brit has the sense to sit in the respectable leather chair (he probably had it flown in immediately when he saw the disgusting furniture he'd have to rest his butt cheeks in), but Dubya? Oh no. He'll rest those old Texas dogs anywhere he can, including a chair a blind four year old could have designed with more taste.

I can't be sure from the picture, but I bet that chair makes his thighs look fat. That's why Tony Blair is smirking at him. We're the laughing stock of the world!

I have standards, dammit, and this time he's gone too far. If this doesn't get him impeached, I give up... I'm moving to Canada until we get back in the White House a Democrat, a woman, a homosexual, or at the bare minimum a Republican who's seen the Martha Stewart show at least once.

Now it's your turn... 17 comments so far:

thatgrrrl -
That's just HIDEOUS!!!!!!!!
-------------------------------
k9642042 -
Oh dear! Up in canada, we had a woman prime minister once in the nineties for about a month. I bet she never would have sat in that chair.
-------------------------------
fireflea -
I went used furniture shopping yesterday looking for a couch, and I swear to god I saw the mate of that horrible looking chair for $15.00! Apparently, Canada isn't safe from The Chair either...
-------------------------------
marisa -
I seriously don't get why there is so much ugliness in the world. We have the ability to NOT produce hideous patterns like that chair, or those warm-up suits like the ones Johnny Depp and Penelope Cruz wore in Blow. AND YET WE KEEP DOING IT!! CAN SO FEW PEOPLE SEE THE HORROR?!?! HAS THE WORLD GONE MAD!?? Seriously, guys. Pink and orange do not ever, ever match. Just so you know.
-------------------------------
Kateabuls -
hey to the one who saw the chair in the resale shop you are safe from it thats why it was there no one wanted it in their homes
-------------------------------
PatrickG -
I can't believe Kinetix saw this, too. I was screaming the other night at the TV about this lady's incredible lack of taste. Where will it ever end with this administration?? She HAS to be a dyke, no doubt about it.
-------------------------------
kinetix -
I was flabbergasted. I ended up watching half of her press conference because I was too stunned to change the channel! Where does one even find such clothes?
-------------------------------
Carla -
OW! I'm still seeing puke-plaid patterns in my peripheral vision!
-------------------------------
Carla (again) -
Well, had to come back and let you know that I'm learning some people truly are equating patriotism with president-worship. My plan to clear my thoughts of political debris for at least two weeks has come to a grinding halt in the first week. I had been reading diaries not on my favorites list and have come across so many that are now suddenly jumping over hoops to tell everyone how they've seen the light overnight and DAMN those liberals! They are ra-ra-ing Bush or removing the rings, etc, from their page that just yesterday lamented the little monkey's selection by the Supreme Court. Then I had a guy ON my favorites page post an indirect sucker punch at me -- and this was a guy who kept IM-ing me to find out "how I beeze" during the time I took an impromptu break from my diary. And the sadder part is that another person who I also IM-ed with off and on joined in -- and it did hurt to read her cheering this crap but at the same time apologetically trying to explain that she still feels she's against some stuff, and then yo-yo-ing back to her approval. It's amazing -- Homeland Security probably hasn't even gotten around to tapping all American Internet accounts -- yet -- and people are already scared in this way. And you have made me think since your change of diary name to PatrickG about revealing more of myself then I had by this point. And now it seems a necessity, even in doing something that can get as trivial and narcissistic as an online diary -- but I am being reminded that, no matter how "anonymous" I am, what's the point of writing anything when you censor what truly makes your heart ache and rage? Whew, there. I'll stop this guestbook mental cleansing now. And thanks for finding the time in all that actuarial madness to stand by your guns, so to speak. Bye now.
-------------------------------
Aaron -
It IS a ugly chair. To much money spent on defense? Canada isn't that great (speaking as a Canadian), but at least our leader isn't insane... and appeared to be threatening us because we didn't fully support him in the war. Wow that was weird. Aaron
-------------------------------
Phro -
You crack me up! I will think of that hideous chair and smile all the livelong morning. I like the image of Tony Blair going to the trouble of flying furniture in just so he can avoid pictures taken in a horrible pastel nightmare of a chair.
-------------------------------
bevin -
Have you ever noticed that world leaders never sit on the sofa together? There's a perfectly respectable leather sofa there in the background. Hmm... I agree with you, that's the tackiest chair ever. And it looks terrible with the leather chairs. Some intern should be fired over that.
-------------------------------
pattymelt -
i swear my aunt has that chair in her livingroom! and she love jr. she probably sent him that damn chair!
-------------------------------
kjizel -
Hmmm... I wonder what decorating disasters lurk inside the White House? Maybe that's the REAL reason that they limited tours... Dubya likes to sit on ugly furniture. I hope its at least COMFY!
-------------------------------
letti -
found ya through another diary. i had to comment on this. 2 things- is it just me or are georgey's legs a tad hard to find? 1- THROW A BLNKET OVER THEM BOTH
-------------------------------
mrcleanluver -
Oh my god that is the most disgusting thing I have ever seen (that's referring to both the chair AND Dubya)!!!!!!!! btw your diary is hilarious!
-------------------------------
Mother Shrimp -
I kind of like the pretty colors. But they just dont't know how to make it work. Now this is how you would fix it. The rug would also have to be plaid...yes more plaid! It should be in the same colors as the chair with a larger (looser)plaid design and mostly yellow. Next, there should be a yellow love seat with an elegant light wood frame and curving arms with goose heads on them. The walls need to be painted in canary yellow with bright red trim and Dutch lace at the windows. Now add a country coffee table and plenty of beautiful bouquets of red and yellow tulips and one Chinese ceramic lion. See, you can fix anything with a lot of money. I watch Martha Stewart.
-------------------------------

Prev | Next