d a q g D F design by sweet pea (irate shrimp)

2003-05-28 | 10:13 p.m.

A Letter to My Dad

Dad �

I�m sorry I�m not as eloquent as my sisters on the phone or in person. I�m better on paper. I would have discussed much more with you on the phone when you called, but you obviously weren�t in the mood to discuss. You were only disseminating information like a stranger might give directions. But because I didn�t, I hear you�ve told Mom that I didn�t join my sisters and gang up on you and express how upset I am with what you�ve done. How dare you. You�ve now lost the ability to ever speak on my behalf again because it�s become apparent that I have no idea who you are.

Who are you. It�s a question the four of us have been asking each other and ourselves a lot this week.

I have never been able to look at you as a good father, but I�ve always looked up to you as a good man. Now you�ve taken away my ability to do even that. A good man does not surprise his wife of 37 years at the door with a suitcase. A good man does not fuck behind his wife and children�s backs for years. A good man does not call his three children the night he�s changed all of their lives and never once utter the phrase, �Are you alright?�

I have never been able to look at you as a good father, but I�ve always thought of you as a smart man. Now you�ve taken away my ability to do even that. A smart man does not abandon his family for a slut who�s able to sleep with a married man � a woman who sees nothing in the sanctity of marriage. If she�s willing to be the other woman once, she�ll be willing to be the other woman again. Next time, you�ll be the loser Dad, and because of the way you�ve handled yourself, you�ll have no one to lean on and support you and love you then. A smart man would not have fallen for such a cliched mid-life crisis scenario. And I�m sure you recognize it as much as the rest of us. I�m sure it�s tempting, I have no doubt, but you think to yourself and find one example of where a 55 year old man has left his wife of 35 years for the whore he�s kept on the side and it�s worked out. It doesn�t, and it doesn�t because it�s not built on a foundation of love and support, it�s built on sex and excitement, and that fades if there�s nothing else to support it. It doesn�t work out Dad, and I would have expected you to be smart enough to realize that. Deep down, I bet you do, and I bet that knowledge haunts you every day and keeps you second guessing all the way up until the moment you find her fucking another man because the sex was better and more exciting.

I have never been able to look at you as a good father, but I�ve always thought of you as a responsible man. Now you�ve taken away my ability to do even that. A responsible man would not think that by giving Mom the house and half the retirement savings that he�s lived up to his responsibilities. Don�t fool yourself, that�s only half of it. Your responsibilities in marriage do not allow for fucking on the side, they do not allow for lying to all of your family for years, they do not allow for humiliating and embarrassing Mom. You must have had dozens of opportunities to leave amicably, without another woman, without another reason other than an unhappy marriage. You�re responsibility was to leave then, not now that you�ve built a whole support network around you through years of lying and cheating, but left Mom with nothing. Fortunately for her, her children are here to live up to your responsibilities. We will be her support network. Your financial support is no longer a responsibility, it�s a legal obligation. Just because you�ve offered it willingly does not make you the better person because you know I have substantial resources to force you to meet that obligation anyway. I�ve advised Mom to not speak to anyone until she�s ready to. I�ve advised her to not sign anything until she�s comfortable with it and has sent it to my lawyer to review. I�ve advised Mom to not settle for anything less than she wants. If you try to get her to do anything different, I will use those considerable resources to stop you. Consider it a warning, do not make her go faster than she wants to, and do not even try to make her accept less than she�s due.

I have never been able to look at you as a good father, but I�ve always thought of you as a good teacher. Now you�ve taken away my ability to do even that. What have you taught us Dad? You�ve taught us all that you are not the man we thought we knew. You�ve taught us that you cannot be trusted. You�ve taught us that you�re a hypocrite. Don�t think that we don�t remember all those discussions you had with your daughters about what horrible men and husbands they have had. They may have hurt your daughters, but they did nothing compared to what you�ve done here. You�ve taken their moments of immaturity, of cruelty, of irresponsibility, of stupidity and magnified it 100 times and aimed it like a cannon straight at your wife and children. And you did it all while denigrating your son in laws for doing so much less. The lesson is clear this time, Dad. Our eyes have all been opened and we�re ashamed and embarrassed of what we see before us.

It didn�t have to end this way, but this is what you�ve chosen. I honestly hope that it will make you happy. I hope you�re happy knowing that now your wife and children will lean on each other for support, rather than burden you. I hope you�re happy knowing that you may never again see us build our families and run our businesses and live our lives. I hope you�re happy knowing that the son you claim to be so proud of is sickened by the thought of what you�ve proven yourself to be.

Now it's your turn... 5 comments so far:

fireflea -
<>
-------------------------------
fireflea -
Dang. I meant those <<>> to have a hug in the middle. Visualize the hug! It's there, I swear.
-------------------------------
Dianna -
When I read this yesterday, I wanted to offer you a kind word or a gentle hug, but I was left speechless. Then I thought about those old cliches - "God doesn't sleep" "what goes around, comes around" "once a cheat, always a cheat" "he will get his" "karma hits the bulls eye everytime", but I guess sometimes the selfishness of human beings just surpasses words. Kind thoughts and wishes for your mom.
-------------------------------
Carla -
I've been sitting here typing and deleting and typing and deleting. Dianna is right -- this surpasses words. My father cheated on my mom with one griftery old woman for years -- but we found out not through him but through the tearful rages of my mother in the kitchen the times she couldn't contain it anymore -- the putting up and shutting up "for the sake of the children." I love my father -- he has passed away but I feel he is not gone. I don't know if this will make sense to you right now, but even though my dad never left my mom and they finally separated and divorced the year after the last one of us was legally grown, I was VERY VERY angry at him and for a very long time and rightfully so. It is a horrible, humiliating thing for the cheated-on spouse to suffer, and for the children, too. And I can't imagine I would have ever forgiven my dad if he had up and left mom the way your dad did, and after being hypocritical and self-righteous with you and your sisters. You would be right to show/send this letter to him -- maybe it will help as a psychic slap that may wake him to the incredible pain he has caused to further his own pleasure. And I wish I could give you more than a long e-hug but that's all I can do and also to thank you for being your mother's advocate so that she may not be further victimized. Good night, baby, and take good care of yourself, too.
-------------------------------
PoeticaL -
I read this, and I am walking in your mother's shoes. Granted I was only married for 12 years, but he left me for our neighbor of 4 years. A woman I trusted and was friends with. I felt so angry and betrayed, not only by him but by her. I would advise your mother not to feel threatened by his demands as far as a divorce is concerned. She should remember that he's had time to think about all of these things and plan the attack to serve his best interests. She also deserves this huge amount of time to come to terms with first her feelings of betrayal and anger before she makes lifelong decisions about her own future. He owes her far more than half, he owes her everything. My feelings are that if a man bails on his vows and cheats, and I'm sure he's lied to her as well in order to pull off his act of infidelities, then he owes her everything. I completely understand your feelings that he should have just left for the sake of leaving but men on a large part are always too weak for that. They need some other dumbass woman to come along and support their cause and convince them that lying and cheating on ones wife is not a bad thing but more of a thing to make them again feel like whole men. I know because my husband never left because our marriage was bad, he spent 3 years looking for a replacement so that he could handle life without me. He needed someone else to take up the reigns of his own needs. If he had just left without someone else being involved we'd probably be amicablly divorced right now. As it stands I told him "I'll sign and I agree to your terms, but I think I'll sign those damn papers in 3 years time after I have the same amount of time you afforded yourself to decide for sure what I truly want. I will pray for your Mom even though I'm not highly religious. I wish her and your entire family (minus your cheating father) strength at this time. For me its been 6 months since he left (2 days after Christmas last year) and I'm ok...I know I'll find better and I know that life will go on. Remember your mother is better off without him and she too will have happier days ahead of her. Even after this...life does go on.
-------------------------------

Prev | Next