d a q g D F design by sweet pea (irate shrimp)

2003-09-07 | 2:05 a.m.

If it were anyone else I'd laugh, nervously

Diary writing doesn't seem to be working anymore.

My life is suddenly a circus � there's more writing material than I could have ever imagined, but still there are no words.

Life has taken a turning point or two this summer.

I bought the house of my dreams with the man I love.

I resolved to get away from Satan... still working on that one, but things are looking up.

I ran to my mother's rescue when my father abandoned her, and our roles were all fucked up while I nursed her wounds and chastised my father for his poor behavior.

Three months later, my father�s 4-year affair mysteriously ended and he declared his decades of lying and cheating to be over and he was ready to return to his wife. My mother sighed with relief, and welcomed him back with open arms, while my sisters and I winced and feared for the next disaster. Then our parents abandoned us, feeling too awkward to call or write.

Two weeks later, my father, whom I still haven�t spoken with since he left my mother in May, returned from a doctor�s visit with the news that he had cancer, and any reconciliation his children and wife had planned with him had better happen quick.

My father is dying, and my mother is left to take care of him. My mother, who lost 50 pounds because she could not find the will to eat after he�d left her, says she�s just glad to have him home so she can take care of him.

At the end of it, I�m left feeling unable to forgive, unable to grieve, and worst of all, unable to prepare for a future I�m too bewildered to predict.

Now it's your turn... 5 comments so far:

Mangus -
it makes me feel good that you've written. I've missed reading things that you have to say because you make the idea of moving north again a little less frightening. I've become too used to living in a small southern town...NewJersey will be a shock to the system. Anyway, Cheers to you on the house.
-------------------------------
Carla -
Again, you have left me wordless for five or so minutes. It's like my summer/fall of 2001 what you just described. And the wordlessness I am going through, have gone through each August/September since then. I've been failing to keep up the diary writing too, just as I did since 2001. That was when my father's cancer "came back" (the way my step brother told me over the phone, like it was some rabid stray left long ago at a road side hundreds of miles from Dad's house hoping it couldn't find its way back). I understand more than I can possibly express here, and telling you to "hang on" and some other tired words won't help. I wish they could, but all you can do is move through the whole thing. I know if I write anything besides surface stuff like what I ate and crap, it would be so hollow I can't even bother to click to it in the end. God here I am ramblig again. But man have I dropped in on you wondering if you'd by chance updated and you've made me crya again and that is a good thing. Because I need to. And maybe your year is going to be like this thick sea you have to just paddle hands and feet and just go with the current when it does move, and just stay afloat when you feel you are going to sink into stagnation. God. Well, I don't even know how to end this note, just glad you wrote, because I hope this helps in a way, but you do come through the other end, even after you feel like you've been hit by a shovel and drank fire and either laugh or cry hysterically from one ho-hum minute to the next. Every August and September is now made up of all of that, of sitting at my father's hospital bedside as at-home hospice was explained to him when he refused to go through chemo again. And watching the WTC falling and people screaming over and again on the TV overhead. Okay, sorry. I just am glad I clicked here when I suddenly thought of you while clicking through Salon. I'll miss you baby, if you don't update again I undestand, but will still check in now and again to see if you have. Take care :)
-------------------------------
RockyMtRangr -
Wow...life is never boring, is it? It's true that you need to be honest with your own feelings, but at the same time, you can't personally change how anyone else handles their own. Good luck to you...it's going to be hard, but your mom is going to need you, and I know you want to be there for her. Take care of yourself, and congrats on the new house!
-------------------------------
Phro -
Hi Patrick. I'm sorry you have to deal with so much at once. Even the good stuff can be overwhelming when there's a lot of change at once, although I'm ever so glad to hear there is some good stuff to focus. Congrats on the house, I hope it's everything you've dreamed of and more. Peace, phro.
-------------------------------
Dianna -
Whether your father deserves your forgiveness or not, you deserve the peace it will bring you. I guess the only way you could bring your head to that position is to stand back, remove your emotions from your parents' relationship, and just view it as another effed up relationship in which you care about both parties, but don't necessarily approve of them as a couple. (We all have friends like that.) I know they're both your parents, but the point is they have had a very long relationship, maybe one you don't approve of, but it's theirs to make of what they want. Forgive him because your mother has forgiven her husband. Forgive him for yourself.
-------------------------------

Prev | Next