d a q g D F design by sweet pea (irate shrimp)

2002-11-11 | 7:55 p.m.

Fishing For Compliments

�We have to face facts, Honey. It may very well be that our son is retarded.�

At first, I had my parents fooled. They even thought I was a gifted child because I started walking much earlier than normal. They probably thought I would be an athlete or something. That alone makes me want to send them another sympathy card. �I�m so sorry you had me,� or �I�m so sorry I turned out this way,� is a typical opening sentence when I send those cards. I was running around the house like mad on my chubby little baby legs, but I wasn�t making much of a racket while doing it. In fact, I�m not sure if I learned to balance a checkbook before I learned to speak, but I bet it was close. As it was told to me, I was about four years old before I said a word.

People tell me that Thomas Edison was the same way. When he was four years old, he said his first words over a meal� �The soup is too cold,� he said. They were astonished to hear a full sentence come from their child who had been so silent up until that point. �Why didn�t you say anything before?� they asked. �I didn�t have anything to say until now,� Edison responded.

I was exactly the same way. Except when I was four, I said, �Taaayyyy Tuuuuuuu,� while a little drool escaped my lips. A complete sentence. Genius was obviously just around the corner.

I was attempting to say, �Thank You,� or, at least, that was what my parents convinced themselves of. Seeing as how I was four years old and hadn�t spoken yet, they thought I was brain damaged due to a high fever and a prolonged illness I suffered from as a baby. Either that or I was incredibly stupid. Either way, they were a little concerned.

Perhaps it�s that my earliest memories, until my eloquent breakthrough, are of being treated by my family as if I was brain damaged, but whatever the reason, I have developed the constant need for validation from others that I�m not stupid. Not only that, I also look to others for clues I�m not really as ugly as I think I am. Maybe I�m feeling funny looking, funny sounding, funny walking, too fat, too scrawny, too lazy, too mean-spirited, too effeminate... When I express to people my fear, I wait for them to deny it, and then I attack them and say they don�t know what they�re talking about. Not only do I want to hear validation that I�m not stupid, I want to argue about it so they have to repeat it and spend even more time convincing me of it.

Some people say I have a low self-esteem, but I tell them I�m just humble.

A friend of mine in high school deliberated on my behavior for some time before finally pointing out to me one day, �You�re fishing for compliments.�

�Maybe if I�d gone to a better school, I wouldn�t be this stupid.�

�If only I weren�t so ugly, I might have a shot at that promotion.�

�I wish my knuckles weren�t so hairy. Do you think that�s a sign of low cognitive abilities.�

I tend to throw out these hideous comments at people, and then perk up my ears and wait for their response, knowing that they�re most likely not going to comeback with, �Oh my god, how did you grow so much hair on your hands, and why didn�t you stop it? Did it happen overnight before you could think to grab the tweezers? What, are your ancestors hobbits or something?�

Have you noticed my profile description? �I want to be David Sedaris, and I won�t stop until I hear someone say, �Hey, you know who you remind me of�?�� Guess what I was striving to accomplish there? I couldn�t even wait and hope someone would mention a similarity, I had to place the cue card directly in their hands and say, �Here, read this like you mean it.�

I guess it�s kind of funny, but it makes me feel terribly guilty at times. I even catch myself sometimes, casting my reel into the waters of the kindhearted and gullible, and I stop myself mid-sentence before I tell them that I used to be really cute until I entered my awkward phase around 3rd grade (and I�m still hoping to grow out of it.)

I suppose I should change my profile, too. But, then again, I�d miss the validation I get from hearing my work compared with David�s. I wish I was a better writer, so I wouldn�t have to beg for the compliment, but given my abilities, I think I should stick with the cue card� don�t you think?

Now it's your turn... 4 comments so far:

wifemotherme -
OK i admit I am not the most educated person on the planet, and I dont have a hairy clue who David Sedaris is but guess who you remind me of...... Listen dear you have 42 entries and you have 97 people who list you as a Favorite already. This is not because your layout is cute. Me thinks David Sedaris could not do as well.......who ever the hell he is. I dont sign guest books often, I dont dish out complaints and I cant write for shit, but I know great writing when I see it. Uncle Bob is ok, Dave Berry is pretty good......but your really great. Now I have to go find out who in the hell David Sedaris is.
-------------------------------
wifemotherme -
I just remembered who you remind me of!!! Robert Fulgham and not just because of the hairy knuckles!
-------------------------------
desertwitch -
I'm guilty of my share of fishing for compliments, BUT putting that aside: You most def do remind me of Sedaris with a touch of Maupin -- the latter because in some entries you have the knack he has for telling a funny story in the near recent past which sneaks up at you from behind and pinches your heart. Hmm, does that make sense? Anyway, fish on!
-------------------------------
squirrelx -
There's not a doubt in my mind that folks would compare you to David Sedaris with or without the 'cue card', and I'm equally certain that the day's gonna come when they'll be comparin' him to you. All your fans here on Diaryland will be able to say 'we read you when ...'. Meanwhile, we don't really need comparisons. The unpainted truth is --- you're brilliant. Best, Xtine / Squirrel X
-------------------------------

Prev | Next