d a q g D F design by sweet pea (irate shrimp)

2002-11-14 | 6:20 a.m.

I'm Older Than I Think

The tooth is starting to feel better, except it�s pretty sensitive when I bite down. Of course, I sleep every night with my teeth clenched extremely tight, so I woke up this morning feeling a bit Linda Blairish again after clenching down on the tooth for 5 hours.

First thing I did was stumble into the bathroom for a fresh bottle of Advil.

You should have seen the look on my face, the utter joy and Christmas morning sparkle in my eyes when I saw the arthritis cap. Holy smokes, I haven�t been this excited since I opened my first train set! I don�t have arthritis, but I do have a lot of pain in my hands and wrists from years of tennis. I�m not exactly pleased that I�m a 25-year-old with arthritic hands, but at least I can tell myself that it�s a sports injury to protect my manly pride. It is a bummer to have to feel so old though. Every morning I wake up to creaking joints and sore muscles, and it�s a toss up whether I have to run to the coffeepot or the medicine cabinet first.

I lightly rested my fingers on the cap and felt the pain-free ease with which it slides open, and then:

Sealed for your protection. Bastards. If I couldn�t get the regular bottle because my hands hurt so much, how in the hell am I supposed to get through that? I can�t get those things off on the best of pain-free days.

Luckily, with age comes not only pain and tooth decay, but also wisdom. I used my analytical skills and grabbed a fork to unleash those lovely pills, which I took while reading my emails. The first was from a sweet friend of mine, who I don�t email enough, who stopped her day shortly after midnight to wish me a happy birthday.

Oh crap! I had forgotten. I�m no longer a 25-year-old with arthritis. I�m a 26-year-old with arthritis.

No wonder I feel so old.

Now it's your turn... 17 comments so far:

petra -
I think I will make some kind of permanent home on here. I like being able to deface your diary. No offense, I really like your diary. Kinda like tagging a train car...blah. Anyways. Motrin might help the pain as well, but never take 4 at once...I did yesterday. Wasn't pleasant.
-------------------------------
Edd -
Happy Birthday!!
-------------------------------
erin -
Happy birthday! What a way to spend it...
-------------------------------
leanasidhe -
i have carpal tunnel from shelving books for 6 years and being a writer. i can't open caps or things during the time it's bad like that, too. good job on getting around the difficulty :) and happy birthday, too :)
-------------------------------
fireflea -
Happy, happy birthday! I hope your day is filled with wonderful things.
-------------------------------
starlight131 -
Happy Birthday!
-------------------------------
Sera -
I'll just be the Echo: Happy Birthday!
-------------------------------
oddcellist -
echoing the echo (there must be a pun to be made about that with umberto eco): happy birthday!
-------------------------------
Carla -
Ditto!
-------------------------------
barani -
Happy Birthday! I turn 26 on the 29th, glad I'm not the only one. :-)
-------------------------------
Kayla -
Happy Birthday! But yes, not exactly the best way to spend it, is it? My birthday doesn't come for another six months...damn (being the selfish little brat that I am, birthdays are so special to me, not because I am getting older and more wise, but because I know that no one likes buying things for me since I'm so picky, but they'll just give me lots of money, yay).
-------------------------------
Alice -
Re: Most recent banner sighting... "Ass.Fragrance" - CLASSIC! Was a little bummed to find that I wasn't discovering someone new and funny, but rather someone funny I already read, but that was overcome when, upon discovering it is your birthday, I figured I could probably have some ice cream tonight to celebrate. :) HAPPY BIRTHDAY! xo~Alice
-------------------------------
Shannon -
Happy belated birthday. I turned 27 on 11-15 but, on most days, I feel 72, so I know how you feel.
-------------------------------
sixfortunes -
greek? must say i prefer the latin... bonam fortunam cum dolor tuus opto
-------------------------------
Corwin -
Hey, so you're 26 also? Congratulations, nothing much more to look forward to... other than death and taxes, and I hear death is a little easier. No forms. :) Take it easy, my tennis racket wielding friend.
-------------------------------
jerem -
I can't remember how I stumbled upon your diary. I think it had something to do with a link from another girl's profile. Anyway, I just turned 25 on Nov. 13th!! We are like long lost twins or something. Well not exactly.
-------------------------------
MOTHER SHRIMP -
I just wanted to add a belated Happy Birthday here. It just felt necessary somehow. HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!!!!!!!
-------------------------------

Prev | Next